What scientists do… in summer!

This has never been more true for me than now. Academic year 2014 – 2015: It’s all over but the grading!

New Under The Sun Blog

Frozen

Let’s start the Frozen series with some summer fun for everyone. Here’s what Olaf (a snowman) thought about summer…

Have you ever wondered what scientists do in summer?

I’ve always loved the idea of summer… Really, I’m guessing you don’t have much experience with breaks, do you?

Nope, but I like to close my eyes and imagine all the potential productivity when summer does come.

There’s no classes… except that new course you wanted to develop for fall

There’s no students… except the half a dozen HHMI undergrads in the lab

No committees… except that one search that’s planning to beat the competition

PI’s will have time to work in the lab… except they don’t remember how to use the equipment.

A flask in my hand,

A burner flaming under ring-stand,

Squinting, yes, that could be a band,

So many experiments to do in summer!

The joy of preliminary data,

View original post 253 more words

2 thoughts on “What scientists do… in summer!

  1. Nir

    I don’t know what you are doing for the summer but I’m in the IUI inter-university institute in the Red sea doing photosynthesis measurement. Would have sent some amazing pictures if I could.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

